Supreme Court Judicial Appointments

The Office of the President and Cabinet has announced that His Excellency the President, Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by Section 111 of the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi, has appointed the following to serve as Justices of Appeal in the Supreme Court of Appeal:

  1. Justice Healey S.B. Potani
  2. Justice John Katsala
  3. Justice Ivy Kamanga
  4. Justice Charles Mkandawire

The appointments are effective 20th October, 2020

Pursuant to Section 115 of the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi which provides that before they assume office, their Lordships and Ladyships must take and subscribe to the oath of allegiance, it pleased His Excellency the President to preside over the swearing-in of these four Justices of Appeal.

The swearing-in ceremony was held on Thursday, 29th October, 2020 at Kamuzu Palace in Lilongwe. The Honourable the Chief Justice Andrew K.C. Nyirenda SC was in attendance.

Add new comment

Restricted HTML

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a href hreflang> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote cite> <code> <ul type> <ol start type> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <h2 id> <h3 id> <h4 id> <h5 id> <h6 id>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.